A word cloud of the 2019 AIA annual meeting

Two years ago I made a word cloud of the titles of the panels and talks at the annual meeting of the AIA. Here is one for the 2019 annual meeting in San Diego (I used Word Art):

AIA 2019

And here are the data for those who are interested (I did manually remove the least common words so that the word cloud wasn’t overwhelming).

My impressions? I’m sort of surprised how traditional many of the titles continue to be. Most talks are about the “core” regions of modern Greece and Italy (“Africa” and “Egypt” are pretty small, for instance). We don’t see much that indicates new methodologies (“digital” and “network” are small) or theoretical approaches. The focus on traditional sites is still very much a thing: there’s a fair amount of Athens, Rome, Corinth, Pompeii, although perhaps their dominance is on the wane… as a landscape guy myself, it’s nice to see “Landscape” displayed so prominently.

2 thoughts on “A word cloud of the 2019 AIA annual meeting

  1. Pingback: American Schools of Oriental Research Annual Meeting | The Archaeology of the Mediterranean World

Leave a comment